2019 Annual Meeting Minutes

Approved Minutes of the 2019 Annual Meeting

Minutes of Regular ANNUAL Meeting of Shareholders

Chariton Valley Telephone Corporation


The regular annual meeting of the Shareholders of Chariton Valley Telephone Corporation was held Thursday, October 3rd, 2019 at the Chariton Valley Headquarters Office in Macon, Missouri.  Chief Executive Officer, Kirby Underberg welcomed those in attendance and those watching online through Facebook Live.  Mr. Underberg then led the audience in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance. The current Board of Directors and Corporate Attorney were introduced by Mr. Underberg.

Mr. Gary Scheiderer, President called the meeting to order at 5:59 p.m. President Scheiderer reported that the bylaws require 5% of the 4346 outstanding voting shares to be represented by confirmed electronic vote to constitute a quorum, that 450 voting shares were confirmed, that 450 exceeded 5% of the total outstanding shares, thus a quorum was represented, and the meeting would proceed.

President Scheiderer presented the meeting notice stating the place, day and hour of the meeting and the statement of the number of directors to be elected and the names and addresses of the candidates.  He also presented the proof of mailing of the notice showing that the annual meeting notices were mailed or emailed on September 12th, 2019 to each of the members of Chariton Valley Telephone Corporation.  A motion was made, seconded and carried by voice vote to waive the reading of the official notice of meeting and proof of mailing thereof.  President Scheiderer then asked if there were any corrections or amendments to last year’s minutes.  There being none, he asked for a motion to dispense with reading of last year’s minutes and approve the minutes as printed on the annual meeting web page. A motion was made, seconded and carried by voice vote to dispense with reading of the minutes and to approve them as presented.


Mr. Kirby Underberg presented the Chief Executive Officer’s report to the audience.  The results of the elections were then announced by Attorney Craig Johnson:

C.F. Pagliai, Jr. (Northeast Area) – 228                  Ben Bell (Northwest Area) – 191

George Murphy (Northeast Area) – 184                  Gary Scheiderer (South Central Area) – 221

Mitch Peiffer (Northwest Area) – 228                     Les Dotson (South Central Area) – 209

Mr. Johnson then declared Junior Pagliai, Mitch Peiffer, and Gary Scheiderer elected to the Board of Directors of Chariton Valley Telephone Corporation.

President Gary Scheiderer announced that the balloting administrator, Survey & Ballot Systems, randomly selected the prize drawing winners and that 100 members would receive $100.  Members who voted were automatically entered in the drawing and did not have to be present at the meeting to win.  Winners will be posted on the Chariton Valley website, www.cvalley.net , and on the Chariton Valley Facebook page.

Public comment was given by a shareholder.

There being no further business to come before the meeting, a motion was made and seconded and the meeting was adjourned at 6:14 p.m.

Holly Woolridge, Secretary of the Board

Pick Your Location

Enter your address to see which services are available in your area.