10-Digit Dialing

What you need to know regarding the 10-Digit Requirement.

In July 2020, the Federal Communications Commission adopted an order approving the designation of 988 as the 3-digit dialing code for the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. To facilitate implementation, area codes across the country where the 988 prefix is a working prefix and which now use 7-digit local dialing must transition to 10-digit local dialing. This includes the 660 area code in our service area.

Starting November 1, 2021, you’ll need to dial the 660 area code plus the 7-digit phone number to make local calls. In addition to changing your dialing routine, you’ll also have to reprogram 7-digit local numbers to 10-digit numbers if you use speed dial or any other system that automatically makes calls for you.


10-Digit Dialing Requirement


  1.  Why is 10-digit dialing being implemented?

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) approved the use of 988 as the three-digit number for the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline (NSPL) in July 2020.

As a result, 84 area codes nationwide that currently use the 988 prefix and seven-digit local dialing will transition to 10-digit dialing (area code and seven-digit number) when calling local numbers.

While the backend efforts to enable rapid 988 dialing are extensive, the value to the public is immeasurable. Carriers such as Chariton Valley, are playing a pivotal role in connecting callers in crisis with trained professionals who can be there when seconds count.

  1.  Will Chariton Valley customers be affected?

To facilitate implementation, all Chariton Valley landline customers will dial 10 digits when making local calls. Seven-digit local dialing will no longer be permitted.

  1.  What will the process be for dialing local numbers?

Dial the area code plus the seven-digit telephone number to make local calls. All Chariton Valley customers making local calls in the 660 area code must utilize this dialing process.

  1.  When will 10-digit dialing be implemented?

Customers should begin using 10-digit dialing immediately, so as to be acclimated to the process when it becomes mandatory. A permissive period will be in place, in which local calls made using seven-digit numbers will still be permitted while customers are transitioning to 10-digit dialing.

  1.  When will 10-digit dialing be mandatory?

Starting November 1, 2021, the area code and seven-digit number must be dialed to call a local number. A local number called not using 10-digits on November 1, 2021, or after will not be carried out. An automated message will notify the caller of the incomplete status.

  1.  Will customers incur long-distance or other additional charges when dialing 10-digit local numbers?

No. The implementation of 10-digit dialing will not increase the costs of local calls. Chariton Valley’s service area and landline phone services will also not be impacted.

  1.  Will current local telephone numbers still be considered local?

Yes. Any telephone number now considered a local number will stay a local number despite dialing 10-digits. As always, a long-distance call will require the customer to dial one then the area code and the seven-digit number.

  1.  Will customers’ phone numbers change?

No. All customers will retain their existing seven-digit number and area code.

  1.   Will the 10-digit dialing requirement affect preset phone numbers?

Any seven-digit preset local number will have to be reset to a 10-digit number if any system, such as speed dial, is used to automatically dial. Chariton Valley strongly encourages all landline customers to transition all preset numbers to 10-digit numbers prior to the November 1, 2021, deadline to avoid the inconvenience of incomplete calls and to ensure a smooth transition.

10. Will Chariton Valley be prepared for the 10-digit dialing transition?

Chariton Valley already has the network technology in place that is needed for implementation and is making every effort to actively educate customers regarding the change to 10-digit local dialing via social media, in-store communication, digital newsletters and more.

11. When will the 988 number be active for the NSPL?

The 988 number for the NSPL will be active as of July 16, 2022. All calls containing the 988 prefix and not utilizing a 10-digit phone number will be rerouted to the NSPL on and after this date.

For now, people hoping for help are encouraged to continue to use the 800 number to connect to the hotline – 1-800-273-8255 (TALK) – until the technical implementation of the nationwide three-button number.

12. Will the NSPL remain accessible using its existing 800 number?

Yes. The NSPL will retain the 1-800-273-8255 (TALK) number after the implementation of the 988 number. Those needing to reach the NSPL will be able to use the 988 number on and after July 16, 2022, and the 800 number will also remain a useable number.